The School of Advanced Study brings together nine national research institutes at the University of London to form the UK's national centre for the support and promotion of research in the humanities and social sciences. 

The University of London is a federation of nineteen self-governing Colleges of outstanding reputation, together with the School of Advanced Study and a number of other acclaimed central academic activities and services. For more information, please visit Structure of the University.

The School is accountable to the Vice-Chancellor and the Collegiate Council, which in turn are accountable to the Board of Trustees of the University, for its own conduct and that of its member institutes.

The Constitution of the School is included in the University's Ordinances. 

The organs of the School are:


Our comprehensive events guide is full of hundreds of events highlighting research in the humanities